The difference between reviewing an article and writing a commentary about it

Recently, I was asked to review an article, which I did. I thought the article was impressive but as usual I still recommended some ways to improve it. Upon resubmission, I reviewed it again – my recommendations were implemented – and the article was published (online first). But that’s not the end of the story. A while later I was asked to write a commentary about the article, which would be published along with the article.

In a sense, I had to review it again and this time was more critical. It was (and is) an impressive article but when my commentary is published, I have to be sure that I have written about all of the positive parts of the article and any remaining deficiencies. Hence I found new deficiencies!

It reminds me when I managed a group at Ciba Corning that I always insisted on a written rather than a verbal report. A verbal report is ephemeral but when you put your name on something you think about it much deeper.

 

Leave a Reply

