Clinical Chemistry Letters to the Editor

A while ago I edited one of my blog entries and sent it in as a Letter to the Editor to Clinical Chemistry. Much to my surprise it was published: Krouwer JS, Wrong thinking about glucose standards. Clin Chem, 2010;56:874-875.

I edited my last blog entry and sent it in as a Letter to the Editor. But when I read the instructions for authors, I noted that it said that letters would only be accepted for articles or brief communications and sure enough my letter was rejected by not being about an article or brief communication. Apparently, the policy has changed because my previous letter was about a Q&A piece: Sacks DB. Tight glucose control in critically ill patients: Should glucose meters be used?. Clin Chem 2009;55:1580-1583.

So this made me think how much of Clinical Chemistry is comprised of articles or brief communications. The results are:

Year Month

Percent that is not
articles or brief communications

2012 Oct

42%

2012 Sep

45%

2012 Aug

47%

This seems messed up. Almost half of what is in Clinical Chemistry is not subject to comment.

I will publish my edited blog entry shortly.

One Response to Clinical Chemistry Letters to the Editor

  1. […] Clinical Chemistry has changed its policy. I commented briefly on this topic before in this blog. My 2010 Letter to the editor about a “Question and […]

Leave a Reply

